Kersey, with its street of old houses straggling across a ford and up the slopes of a little valley and its slendid church crowning the hill on the south side, is one of the most picturesque villages in East Anglia. As such it attracts many visitors from all over the world.
St Mary's Church
The oldest part of the building, the south wall of the nave, dates back to the twelfth century, indicating a Norman rebuilding of the original Saxon Church. A more extensive reconstruction was begun in the fourteenth century, the chancel was enlarged and the north aisle built and joined to the nave by an arcade of seven arches about 1335. Work was also started on the tower but was halted by the Black death in 1349.
A memorial stone within the church showing the names of those from Kersey that perished in the First World War, inscribed is the name Sidney. W. Arthey.
Research by John Arthy, Barbara Arthy.